Bacon me happy


There’s a guy in Springville named Giordano who makes this bacon

Homer: Are you saying you’re never going to eat any animal again? What about bacon?
Lisa: No.
Homer: Ham?
Lisa: No.
Homer: Pork chops?
Lisa: Dad, those all come from the same animal.
Homer: Heh heh heh. Ooh, yeah, right, Lisa. A wonderful, magical animal.

Could there be another meat product that has so fired the imaginations of its acolytes?

Metafilter offers a roundup of the most thought-provoking bacon spinoffs. It makes sense, for what is bacon but pork belly cured with salt and sugar, then smoked?

Bacon baklava.

Bacon ice cream.

Maple bacon cupcakes with maple frosting.

The discussion thread offers a dozen more instances of bacon-mania. But it omits, curiously enough, my favorite unbelievable I’m-clutching-my-chest-in-a-good-way recipe:

Bacon mayo. Mayonnaise made with bacon fat instead of vegetable oil.

I would imagine what a bacon-lettuce-and-tomato sandwich would be like with such a condiment, but I cannot. My heart would surely leap from my ribcage in self-defense and splish-splish-splish away, leaving me dying for bacon.

But I’ve already rendered myself unreliable on this issue, being known to drive 45 minutes for the best bacon I’ve ever had.

Giordano Meats
7112 Zoar Valley Rd
Springville, NY 14141
716-592-9375

4 Comments

Filed under pork

4 responses to “Bacon me happy

  1. Mark Criden

    No comments? Preposterous! nothing’s more impt than bacon. I used to travel to Nodine’s when I lived in CT, and have been thinking of the Grateful Palate’s Bacon of the Month Club. Dean Ornish is a member, I believe.

  2. Mike A

    Giordano is king ,but try any smoked pork at Spar’s – a wonderland of smoked and cured pork parts!

  3. Thanks for the suggestion – I’ve heard a lot about Spar’s, but have never been.

  4. Hudson

    If you love pork in all of it’s glorious incarnations, than Spars is the place for you!!

Leave a Reply

